"Science, Music, & Marshmallows"

[July 31, 2007 Update: The 2007 summer schedule for "Science, Music, and Marshmallows" can be found at: http://www.mpnric.org/page0003.html]

Weekly family science events. Music, lectures, field trips, and marshmallow roasting are weekly events planned by the Education Committee of the Marys Peak Natural Resources Interpretive Center for the summer of 2004. Natural resources, cultural resources, and the stars will be the focus of science-based inquiries into the local environment that can be shared by the whole family.

July 4, 2004 News Article

July 8, 2004 News Column

Newton Creek Wetlands on Highway 20 (former Clemens Mill site)

Philomath, Oregon

Map to Meeting Locations [Thanks, Morgan!]

Wednesday nights and Saturday mornings: July 7 - August 28, Summer 2004

Schedule of Lectures and Field Trips with Local Experts and Scientists

Hyperlink Date & Time Speaker Title Location

Wed., July 7,

8:00 PM

Jeff Picton

Chintimini Wildlife Rehabilitation Center

Birds of Prey

Web Report

Pictures

Videos

Sat., July 10,

7:00 AM

Corvallis Audubon Society Birds of Luckiamute Landing Mouth of Luckiamute River, at Willamette River

Wed., July 14,

8:30 PM

Gary Blanchard

Starker Forests, Inc.

Forestry: Then and Now

Pictures

PowerPoint

Videos

Sat., July 17,

9:00 AM

Gary Springer

Starker Forests, Inc.

Starker Forests Tour Starker Forests

www.HVAAstronomy

.com

Wed., July 21,

8:30 PM

Steve McGettigan

Heart of the Valley Astronomers

Our Solar System and Beyond

Web Report

Pictures

Videos

www.HVAAstronomy

.com

Sat., July 24,

9:30 PM

Steve McGettigan

Heart of the Valley Astronomers

Star Party @ Adair Aerodome Adair Village Aerodome

Wed., July 28,

8:30 PM

Joseph Postman

USDA Clonal Germplasm Repository

Maintaining Genetic Diversity of Plant Crops

Web Report

Pictures

Video

Sat., July 31,

10:00 AM

Joseph Postman

USDA Clonal Germplasm Repository

Clonal Germplasm Repository Facility Tour Germplasm Facility on Peoria Road

Wed., Aug. 4,

8:30 PM

Bob Zybach

OSU College of Forestry, Forest Science Department

Indian Burning & Catastrophic Wildfire Patterns of the Oregon Coast Range, 1491-1951 Clemens Mill

Sat., Aug. 7,

10:00 AM

Bob Zybach

Oregon Websites and Watersheds Project, Inc.

Kalapuyan Management of Bald Hill Tour Bald Hill Trailhead on Oak Creek.
Wed., Aug. 11,

Judith Li

Oregon State University

  Clemens Mill
Sat., Aug. 14,      

Wed., Aug. 18,

8:30 PM

Darin Stringer

Integrated Resource Management

Oak Woodland Habitats & Their Management Clemens Mill
Sat., Aug. 21,

Marc Barnes

Integrated Resource Management

Tour Bald Hill Restoration Bald Hill Trailhead on Oak Creek
Sat., Aug. 28,      

2004 Oregon Websites and Watersheds Project, Inc.